Kyrenia Gate In order to defend the city of Nicosia, the Venetians started to build new walls in 1567 to replace the old Lusignan walls around the city. On these circular walls, which have a circumference of 3 miles, there are 11 bastions, each of which can be considered a castle, and a total of 3 gates. One of the 3 gates is the Kyrenia Gate located in the north of Nicosia. Kyrenia Gate was one of the most important entry and exit points of the city. It was renovated by the Ottomans in 1821. In 1931, the walls on both sides were demolished and the road was opened for motor vehicles. Kyrenia Gate currently hosts the Nicosia Tourism Information Off