Salamis Ruins is an ancient city located about 6 km north of the city of Famagusta. The city was founded near the basin where the Pedios (Kanlıdere) river, originating from the Troodos Mountain, flows into the sea. It was discovered at the end of the 19th century, covered by trees and soil, and most of the city was unearthed during excavations between 1952 and 1974. The excavations, which were interrupted in 1974, were restarted by Ankara University in 1998. The city, which is also mentioned in the Bible, witnessed the sermons of the apostle Barnabas and the apostle P
Kocareis bungalows started its service on the eastern coastline of Famagusta in 1976, initially selling soft drinks only during seasons. Over time, it first started to serve in the accommodation sector with only five rooms, and since 1985 it has started to provide service all year round. The first new block bungalow construction was completed in the early 90s, and it gained its current appearance with the addition of the other two blocks. Bungalows: There are three types of bungalows in our facility. These; We can classify it as four-person, three-person and two-person. Our four-person bungalows have a mezzanine floor and have two beds and two sofa beds. Our three-person bungalows have two beds and a pull-out bed, and our two-person bungalows have a double bed. All bungalows have a gas stove with oven, a refrigerator, a pot, a pan, plates, cutlery and glasses depending on the number of people, and a television as standard. Each bungalow has a private balc
This is a royal palace built by the Venetians on the ruins of a palace built by the Lusignans in the 13th century. The front which has survived was built in the 16th century and the columns used here were brought from the Salamis ruins. On the arch in the middle there is an insignia belonging to the Venetian ruler Giovanni Rei
The St. Barnabas church has a rich collection of icons mostly dating from the 18th century. The basalt mill in the courtyard is from the Enkomi settlement and the other columns and stones are from Salamis. The rooms where the priests lived have been restored and turned into an archaelogical museum. It is possible to see a variety of works of art from a wide range of historical spectrum from the Neolithic Period to the Roman period. Bronze and marble pieces are also being exhibited at the mus
  Built between 1298 and 1312 during the Lusignan period, it is one of the most beautiful Gothic buildings in the entire Mediterranean world. The Lusignan kings first lived in Nicosia in St. The King of Cyprus in the St. Sophia Cathedral, and then the St. Sophia Cathedral in Famagusta. They were crowned King of Jerusalem in St. Nicholas Cathedral. These ceremonies were held until it was converted into a mosque in 1571. The architecture of the cathedral's western façade, which is the most beautiful and best preserved, was influenced by the Reims Cathedral in France. The 16th century Venetian gallery of the cathedral, which has a unique Gothic style embroidered window, is located in the courtyard and is used as a fountain today. A Venetian coat of arms can be seen above the round windows at the entrance. It is thought that the relief decorated with some animal figures comes from a temple in Salamis. The apse of the cathedral, like most Cypriot churches, is in the Eastern style and has three compartments. The historical sycamore tree or tropical fig (Ficus Soycomorus or Minimal Deciduos) located at the entrance of the cathedral is the oldest living creature on the island of Cyprus, with a history of approximately 700 years. It is said that the tree was planted in 1298, when the construction of the cathedral began. Its trunk divides into 7 branches after 2.70 meters. The tree, which bears fruit seven times a year, casts a fascinating shade in front of the cathedral. The tree, whose roots reach East Africa, has been important in the region since the time of the ancient Egyptians due to its beautiful fruit, its ability to create a semi-covered shade for hot places, and its valuable timber for furniture making. This may be due to the fact that the fruits of the tree are called Pharaoh fruits among the pub
This monument which is within the Necropolis is thought to have been erected in the name of Nikokreon, the last king of Salamis. It is stated that Nikokreon chose to commit suicide rather than surrender to Ptolemaios. Before killing himself, he killed his wife and family, and set fire to the palace. In the middle of the platform that can be reached by climbing a set of echeloned steps, there is a kiln in which iron bars and statues made of stone and clay belonging to that era were found. The statues made of half baked clay have the characteristics of the late Classical Greek sculpt