History of Nicosia Starting from ancient times, throughout history; Nicosia was a city where feudal lords, dukes, kings, lords, nobles, barons, knights, governor pashas and Beylerbeyi ruled... When you look at the map, Nicosia is located almost in the middle of Cyprus. This city, which we call "Nicosia" and the Greek Cypriots call "Lefkosia", is built on a flat area and bears the traces of many civilizations, cultures and religions in its historical texture. Its oldest known name is "Lydra"... In its soil; There are ruins from the Bronze period and the Roman period… Nicosia has served as the "capital" of almost all the states that ruled Cyprus since the Byzantine period. In the city; Historical buildings especially from the periods of the Lusignan Kingdom (192-1489), the Venetians (1489-1570), the 370-year-long Ottoman rule (1571-1878) and the British colonial administration (1878-1960) attract attention. When Nicosia, which was a Christian city until the 16th century, was conquered by the Ottomans, Islamic architecture began to be visible in the city. In the 1920s, Armenians coming from Anatolia settled in this neighborhood. The Armenian Church (Notre Dame de Tire) located here was restored and joined the cultural heritage of the city. During the Lusignan Kingdom, which lasted nearly 300 years, Nicosia was governed with the medieval Feudal City concept and remained the administrative capital of the island. During this period, the Lusignans also built walls around the city. King Henry I built the first walls with two towers in 1211, Peter I built a third tower, and Henry II built the first walls. Henry had the city completely surrounded by walls. Used as the main church during the Lusignan period, St. Sophia Cathedral was converted into a mosque by the Ottomans and was named "Selimiye Mosque-Hagia Sophia". This magnificent historical building; It has served as a place of worship for Christians and then for Muslims since 1326. Derviş Pasha Mansion, Arabahmet Mosque, Haydarpaşa Mosque and Ayluka Church, which is now used for cultural purposes, are also noteworthy structures in the Walled City. Samabahçe houses are Nicosia's first mass housing attempt... They were restored with EU funds in 2004 and added to the "authentic" values of Nicosia. Outside the walls; There are regions such as Köşklüçiftlik, Kumsal, Dereboyu, Taşkınköy, Göçmenköy, Ortaköy, Kermiya, Yenişehir, K. Kaymaklı. Until the early 1950s, the city of Nicosia had a mixed character in terms of demographics. There were fewer Turks compared to Greeks in regions such as Tahtakale, Ömerge, Strovolos, K. Kaymaklı, and Entertainment. A considerable number of Greeks lived in neighborhoods such as Ayluka, Arabahmet and Yenicami. In the Arabahmet region, Armenians were in majority. When ethnic conflicts began between the two c ommunities; The British colonial administration placed wire fences between Turkish and Greek neighborhoods for the first time in 1956. Thus, the Greek tradesmen who remained on the Turkish side fled to the southern part of the city, and the Turks who remained in the south fled to the north. In 1958, ethnic conflicts in the city reached their peak. Hundreds of people were killed in the streets. Turks in neighborhoods such as Aykasiyano and Tahtakala fled to the north. In 1958, British authorities divided the city into Turkish and Greek sides with wire fences. The created border was called the "Mason-Dixon Line", inspired by the USA. In 1963, the city was divided into two by the "Green line". During this period, Armenians living in the Arabahmet region left their homes and moved to the south. City; It was divided into two areas with barricades, sandbags, barrels and positions. As a result of the military operation in 1974; New areas in Kızılbaş, Kaymaklı and Kermiya joined the Turkish part of Nicosia. Today, the city of Nicosia still maintains its two-zonal character. There is an area under UN control in between. However, it is possible to travel between the Greek side and the Turkish side through three crossing points. People, vehicles and products can pass through these points in a controlled and authorized manner. Lidra Palace gate was opened for the first time between the Turkish and Greek sides of the capital on April 23, 2003. Following this, Metehan was opened on May 10, 2003, and Lokmacı was opened on April 3, 2008. Nicosia Walls, one of the most perfect examples of military architecture, are 5 kilometers long and consist of 11 bastions and 3 monumental gates. During the Lusignan period, the city can be examined in two parts: inside the walls and outside the walls. The walls, which still exist in Nicosia and add great beauty to the city, were built by the Venetians. Nicosia was turned into a circular city with walls containing 11 bastions. The inner city section of Nicosia was entered through three gates: Kyrenia gate, Paphos gate, Famagusta gate... Bandabuliya, where city people meet their vegetables, fruits, meat and all kinds of needs, and the inns where village buses used to park are also noteworthy buildings. The Walled City is a cultural treasure in terms of historical structures. It is possible to see traces of several civilizations in many buildings that still exist today... Among the most striking structures within the walls; There is the Büyük Han and the Selimiye Mosqu
Kyrenia Marina is located in the touristic city of Kyrenia. The restaurants and bars located behind the horseshoe-shaped recess present a picturesque appearance. The presence of the castle from the Lusignan period, located at the entrance of Kyrenia Marina (from the seaway side), further increases the richness of the Marina. The buildings, which currently function as restaurants and bars, were previously used as warehouses for carob (carob) and salt, which were exported from Cyprus to Anatolia and Europe. The port, which had an important place in the export of carob and salt, was tried to be developed by building a breakwater and a single-storey customs building during the British Colonial Period (after 1880). In 1914, a second floor was added to this customs building (the stone-made building currently used as the Marina Office) and its final shape was given. The port (customs building), which was previously used for passenger purposes, was transferred to the Turkish Cypriot Tourism Enterprises in 1991 and its infrastructure was built and opened as a Marina Enterprise. Today, the Marina, which is the only one in TRNC, provides various services to many foreign boats and hosts them with its hospitable servi
The square, together with the historical buildings around it, has become a historical center shaped by the heritage of different cultures. A Latin inscription on the body of a column found during the construction of a mosque dates back to A.D. It is stated that it dates back to the 2nd century. This is one of the first signs about the square. In the 1200s, St. The start of the construction of the Sophia Cathedral can be seen as a turning point regarding the square. St. The construction of the Sophia Cathedral was started in 1209 by the Latin Archbishop Eustorge de Montaigu. Later St. Nicholas Church and the Archbishop building were added, the square and its surroundings became a religious center. During the Venetian period, the face of the square was not changed, a guest house (Venetian House) and a meeting building (Chapter House) were built for the priests. During the Ottoman period, in 1571, St. Sophia Cathedral was converted into a mosque and minarets were added to the structure. This mosque was named after the Ottoman sultan Selim II, who conquered Cyprus in 1
Greek and Greek military vehicles captured during the 1974 Peace Operation are exhibited in the Peace and Freedom Open Air Museum, located in the garden of the Peace and Freedom Museum. As for the Peace and Freedom Museum, this building, which was the house of Makarios' dentist Yorgacis, was used as the headquarters building on the night of July 20, when the 1974 Cyprus Peace Operation started, which was a turning point in the history of the struggle of the Turkish Cypriots. However, the entrance of the building was hit by a rocket launcher bullet fired by Greek soldiers and in the violent explosion, 50th Infantry Regiment Commander Infantry Senior Colonel İbrahim Karaoğlanoğlu, Pilot Major Fehmi Ercan, who served as Air Liaison Officer, and two privates were martyred. For this reason, the house, which has become a historical document, was organized as a museum in order to immortalize the Cyprus Peace Operation and was opened to visitors with an official ceremony as the Peace and Freedom Museum on the second anniversary of the operation. The museum was built as a wealthy Greek house in the early 1970s and is located just east of Yavuz Landing Beach, where the First Peace Operation began. The place where the rocket launcher bullet hit on the night of July 20, 1974 was untouched. The maintenance, repair, landscaping and interior exhibition of the museum in its current state was carried out in cooperation with the Turkish Cypriot Peace Forces Command, the Turkish Aviation and Space Industry, the Ministry of Tourism and Environment and the Department of Antiquities and Museums. The sections of the museum are as follows. Ground Floor: On the ground floor of the museum, the events that necessitated the 1974 Peace Operation are presented with representative animations in the historical process, while the weapons captured during the operation are also exhibited here. Also on this floor, visitors to the museum are given the opportunity to watch the Cyprus Peace Operation documentary. Upper Floor: On the upper floor of the museum, the uniforms and personal belongings of martyr Colonel İbrahim Karaoğlanoğlu and martyr Pilot Major Fehmi Ercan, as well as the photographs, personal belongings and uniforms of those who were martyred during the operation are exhibited. Inner Courtyard: In the inner courtyard of the museum, there is a monumental panel with the names of the soldiers and civilians martyred during the Cyprus Peace Operation. In the open area between the museum building and the Karaoğlanoğlu Martyrdom, armored vehicles and heavy weapons abandoned by the Greek National Guard Army are exhibited. Room I: This is the hall where the historical development of the events that took place between the two peoples in Cyprus until 1974, maps related to the 1st and 2nd parts of the Peace Operation, pictures of armored vehicles and weapons used by the Greeks against the Turks are exhibited. II. Room: This is the room where the video trailer showing the "30 Hot Days" document flood, which describes the events in Cyprus, and newspaper news about July 20, 1974 are located. III: Room: This is the room where the biographies and uniforms of Infantry Senior Colonel İbrahim Karaoğlanoğlu and Air Pilot Major Fehmi Ercan are exhibited. IV. Room: This is the room where the pictures, weapons, uniforms and personal belongings of the martyred Cypriot Mujahideen are exhibited. V. and VI. Rooms: This is the room where the pictures of the martyred Turkish soldiers and the uniforms and personal belongings of our martyrs are exhibited. VII. Room: This is the room where the words of then Prime Minister Bülent Ecevit and TRNC President Rauf Raif Denktaş about the Cyprus Peace Operation and pictures of martyrs' cemeteries and monuments are displa
The noise of the city, traffic chaos, fast-flowing time, fatigue... All these are far away from you now. Because you are now in Tatlısu, a unique natural wonder where green and blue meet. In this natural wonder, on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea, all of the rooms, which are made entirely of wooden materials and carefully furnished with all kinds of comfort, have sea and forest views. With its indoor restaurant for 250 people and an outdoor restaurant for 600 people, Tatlısu Zambak Holiday Village invites you to listen to the sound of peace. There is also wireless internet service throughout our holiday village. &n
Niazi’s was first established in 1949 in Limassol Cyprus. It first comprised of two adjoining shops serving local people. Soon became famous and well known among British Forces personnel. In 1967 Niazi`s moved to its new building in Limassol and served there until 1974 where it became famous within the whole of the island. In 1974, it was relocated again to its present location in Kyrenia. Niazi’s created the concept of charcoal grilled kebabs with accompanying mezes, the FULL KEBAB. To this date, the FULL KEBAB has become a trademark concept in Cyprus cuisine. Niazi’s today is a restaurant with international reputation serving an extensive charcoal grill menu, but the FULL KEBAB is still the main attraction. Niazi’s now operates six branches in Kyrenia, Nicosia and Famagu
In the Minia Cyprus open-air museum, there are miniatures of historical artifacts belonging to the civilizations that came and went from the island of Cyp
Kocareis bungalows started its service on the eastern coastline of Famagusta in 1976, initially selling soft drinks only during seasons. Over time, it first started to serve in the accommodation sector with only five rooms, and since 1985 it has started to provide service all year round. The first new block bungalow construction was completed in the early 90s, and it gained its current appearance with the addition of the other two blocks. Bungalows: There are three types of bungalows in our facility. These; We can classify it as four-person, three-person and two-person. Our four-person bungalows have a mezzanine floor and have two beds and two sofa beds. Our three-person bungalows have two beds and a pull-out bed, and our two-person bungalows have a double bed. All bungalows have a gas stove with oven, a refrigerator, a pot, a pan, plates, cutlery and glasses depending on the number of people, and a television as standard. Each bungalow has a private balc
Karpaz View Hotel has a spectacular location overlooking the coast with panoramic views just next to the St. Apostolos Andreas Monastery. Located in one of the most beautiful spots in Karpaz. It is situated approximately 20 minutes drive from the Dip Karpaz Village where St. Apostolos Andreas Monastery is signposted and just 3 minutes from the Holy Monastery on foot. View Hotel is ready to host you with 15 rooms all with air conditioning and sea views. Outside terraces offer seating areas within a stunning setting. The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating facing the beautiful Mediterranean sea and servers traditional local cuisine. The Karpaz View Hotel is run by the Dipkarpaz Municipal
Kaplica Hotel & Bungalow is located at the seaside on the coastal road between Kyrenia and Karpaz close to Kaplica village. The Hotel’s stunning Sea and Mountain View together with its Private Sandy Beach attracts both local and international tourists throughout the year. If you are lucky enough you may even see newly hatched turtles. &n