Sultan II. It was built by Mahmud II in 1829. Mahmut Library consists of a large domed room and a domed and arched porch. Like Arap Ahmet Mosque, it is an example of classical Ottoman Mosque and Madrasa architecture. There are approximately 1700 books in the library, including the manuscript of the Holy Quran and valuable Arabic, Turkish and Persian books. It was restored by the Foundations Administration in 2008 and started to serve as a research libr
The eleventh bastion on the Nicosia Walls, the Brave Bastion, is used as a park today. Taksim Football Field and Ledra Palace, where the matches of Çetinkaya Sports Club, one of the most important clubs in the history of Turkish Cypriot Football, are played, as well as Dragos Square and Pafos Gate from the Greek side can be seen very beautifully from this p
Ledra Palace Hotel is the central point of the UN Peace Force in the Nicosia buffer z
Nicosia Courts Building The Lusignan Palace was a palace built by the Lusignans in Nicosia and was used as the residence of the "duke" or "governor" (Byzantine Katapan) during the Lusignan period. It was the third palace built by the Lusignans in Nicosia and was the home of the island's chief constable, Sir Hugh de la Baume, before the Second Lusignan Palace was sacked. In 1427 it became the royal palace of Lusignan. It fell into the hands of the Venetians in 1489. The Venetians used the palace as the governor's palace and called it "Palazzo del Governo" (Governor's Palace). It began to be used as the mansion of Ottoman governors in 1570. In 1878, the island came under British rule, and the palace continued to be used as an official building. In 1904, it was demolished on the grounds that it was too weak and dilapidated, and today's Nicosia Courts were built in its place. Restoration was carried out in various parts of the buildings from 1998 to 2009. Currently, these buildings are used by the Supreme Court, Nicosia District Court, Chief Public Prosecutor's Office and Nicosia Land Registry Office.   Nicosia Post Office Building The Nicosia Post Office building was built by the British colonial administration in 1925. Turks and Greeks worked together in this building, which was used by the Republic of Cyprus for postal services until 1960. In the following years, the Provisional Turkish Cypriot Administration established the Turkish Cypriot Posts; He made the building the center of this institution.
Bedesten, also known as St. Nicolas Church is a Byzantine church built in the Gothic order, dating back to the 14th century. It was expanded with some Gothic additions made by the Lusignans, and after new changes made during the Venetian period, it was given to the Greek Orthodox Metropolis. It has a hybrid texture with different architectural styles. During the Ottoman rule, it was used as a covered bazaar and grain warehouse, with some changes made. During this period (1573), the name of the building was changed to Bedesten. The Bedesten was recently restored by UNDP-PFF, with the financial contributions of the European Union, and reintroduced to the community to be used in cultural and artistic activit
Kyrenia Gate In order to defend the city of Nicosia, the Venetians started to build new walls in 1567 to replace the old Lusignan walls around the city. On these circular walls, which have a circumference of 3 miles, there are 11 bastions, each of which can be considered a castle, and a total of 3 gates. One of the 3 gates is the Kyrenia Gate located in the north of Nicosia. Kyrenia Gate was one of the most important entry and exit points of the city. It was renovated by the Ottomans in 1821. In 1931, the walls on both sides were demolished and the road was opened for motor vehicles. Kyrenia Gate currently hosts the Nicosia Tourism Information Off
History of Nicosia Starting from ancient times, throughout history; Nicosia was a city where feudal lords, dukes, kings, lords, nobles, barons, knights, governor pashas and Beylerbeyi ruled... When you look at the map, Nicosia is located almost in the middle of Cyprus. This city, which we call "Nicosia" and the Greek Cypriots call "Lefkosia", is built on a flat area and bears the traces of many civilizations, cultures and religions in its historical texture. Its oldest known name is "Lydra"... In its soil; There are ruins from the Bronze period and the Roman period… Nicosia has served as the "capital" of almost all the states that ruled Cyprus since the Byzantine period. In the city; Historical buildings especially from the periods of the Lusignan Kingdom (192-1489), the Venetians (1489-1570), the 370-year-long Ottoman rule (1571-1878) and the British colonial administration (1878-1960) attract attention. When Nicosia, which was a Christian city until the 16th century, was conquered by the Ottomans, Islamic architecture began to be visible in the city. In the 1920s, Armenians coming from Anatolia settled in this neighborhood. The Armenian Church (Notre Dame de Tire) located here was restored and joined the cultural heritage of the city. During the Lusignan Kingdom, which lasted nearly 300 years, Nicosia was governed with the medieval Feudal City concept and remained the administrative capital of the island. During this period, the Lusignans also built walls around the city. King Henry I built the first walls with two towers in 1211, Peter I built a third tower, and Henry II built the first walls. Henry had the city completely surrounded by walls. Used as the main church during the Lusignan period, St. Sophia Cathedral was converted into a mosque by the Ottomans and was named "Selimiye Mosque-Hagia Sophia". This magnificent historical building; It has served as a place of worship for Christians and then for Muslims since 1326. Derviş Pasha Mansion, Arabahmet Mosque, Haydarpaşa Mosque and Ayluka Church, which is now used for cultural purposes, are also noteworthy structures in the Walled City. Samabahçe houses are Nicosia's first mass housing attempt... They were restored with EU funds in 2004 and added to the "authentic" values of Nicosia. Outside the walls; There are regions such as Köşklüçiftlik, Kumsal, Dereboyu, Taşkınköy, Göçmenköy, Ortaköy, Kermiya, Yenişehir, K. Kaymaklı. Until the early 1950s, the city of Nicosia had a mixed character in terms of demographics. There were fewer Turks compared to Greeks in regions such as Tahtakale, Ömerge, Strovolos, K. Kaymaklı, and Entertainment. A considerable number of Greeks lived in neighborhoods such as Ayluka, Arabahmet and Yenicami. In the Arabahmet region, Armenians were in majority. When ethnic conflicts began between the two c ommunities; The British colonial administration placed wire fences between Turkish and Greek neighborhoods for the first time in 1956. Thus, the Greek tradesmen who remained on the Turkish side fled to the southern part of the city, and the Turks who remained in the south fled to the north. In 1958, ethnic conflicts in the city reached their peak. Hundreds of people were killed in the streets. Turks in neighborhoods such as Aykasiyano and Tahtakala fled to the north. In 1958, British authorities divided the city into Turkish and Greek sides with wire fences. The created border was called the "Mason-Dixon Line", inspired by the USA. In 1963, the city was divided into two by the "Green line". During this period, Armenians living in the Arabahmet region left their homes and moved to the south. City; It was divided into two areas with barricades, sandbags, barrels and positions. As a result of the military operation in 1974; New areas in Kızılbaş, Kaymaklı and Kermiya joined the Turkish part of Nicosia. Today, the city of Nicosia still maintains its two-zonal character. There is an area under UN control in between. However, it is possible to travel between the Greek side and the Turkish side through three crossing points. People, vehicles and products can pass through these points in a controlled and authorized manner. Lidra Palace gate was opened for the first time between the Turkish and Greek sides of the capital on April 23, 2003. Following this, Metehan was opened on May 10, 2003, and Lokmacı was opened on April 3, 2008. Nicosia Walls, one of the most perfect examples of military architecture, are 5 kilometers long and consist of 11 bastions and 3 monumental gates. During the Lusignan period, the city can be examined in two parts: inside the walls and outside the walls. The walls, which still exist in Nicosia and add great beauty to the city, were built by the Venetians. Nicosia was turned into a circular city with walls containing 11 bastions. The inner city section of Nicosia was entered through three gates: Kyrenia gate, Paphos gate, Famagusta gate... Bandabuliya, where city people meet their vegetables, fruits, meat and all kinds of needs, and the inns where village buses used to park are also noteworthy buildings. The Walled City is a cultural treasure in terms of historical structures. It is possible to see traces of several civilizations in many buildings that still exist today... Among the most striking structures within the walls; There is the Büyük Han and the Selimiye Mosqu
The square, together with the historical buildings around it, has become a historical center shaped by the heritage of different cultures. A Latin inscription on the body of a column found during the construction of a mosque dates back to A.D. It is stated that it dates back to the 2nd century. This is one of the first signs about the square. In the 1200s, St. The start of the construction of the Sophia Cathedral can be seen as a turning point regarding the square. St. The construction of the Sophia Cathedral was started in 1209 by the Latin Archbishop Eustorge de Montaigu. Later St. Nicholas Church and the Archbishop building were added, the square and its surroundings became a religious center. During the Venetian period, the face of the square was not changed, a guest house (Venetian House) and a meeting building (Chapter House) were built for the priests. During the Ottoman period, in 1571, St. Sophia Cathedral was converted into a mosque and minarets were added to the structure. This mosque was named after the Ottoman sultan Selim II, who conquered Cyprus in 1
Arabahmet Mosque is a Classical Ottoman work located in the Arabahmet District of Nicosia. The mosque was built in the name of Arabahmet Pasha, who participated in the conquest of Cyprus, was the Governor of Cyprus and was among the first founders of the foundation. The mosque was built in the 16th century. The end of the century and the 17th century. It is recorded that it was built on the site of a medieval cathedral and/or on the site of a cathedral at the beginning of the century, and that it was repaired in 1845. When it was first built, its floor was paved with 25 tombstones from the Middle Ages, and these were covered with a wooden floor. During the repair of the mosque between 1992 and 1996, the tombstones at the base were removed and transferred to the Nicosia Stone Works Museum. It is the only mosque in Nicosia built according to the traditional plan scheme of Anatolian mosques. It is estimated that it was built with the idea that such a magnificent mosque would be built in a neighborhood where wealthy people, high-ranking public officials and even pashas resided during the Ottoman Period. The mosque, made of cut stone, has a narthex with a transverse rectangular plan. The narthex has three arched openings on the facade and one on each side. The mihrab is made of marble, resembles a muqarnas weave motif, and is surrounded by three moldings. The entire pulpit to the west of the mihrab is made of marble. The minaret is adjacent to the northwestern wall of the mosque and its door opens to the mosque harbour. It has a stone base, polygonal body, stalactite decoration, a single balcony and a metallic cone. There is a fountain and a small cemetery in the courtyard of the mosque. There are taps in the niches formed by the baroque arches in the octagonal planned water reservoir. This structure repeats the traditional composition of Classical Period Ottoman fountains and was built in 1902. The north and northwest courtyards of the mosque were used as a hazire (cemetery) where famous people were buried. Only six of the tombs in Hazire have preserved their original features. The single-type tombs in the northwest and northeast of the mosque were built here during the renovation works of the mosque between 1992 and 1996, and the headstones and tombstones, which are based on the courtyard wall of the mosque, were mounted at the head and foot ends. Among the important people buried in the cemetery are Kıbrıslı Mehmet Kamil Pasha, who served as grand vizier in the Ottoman Empire 4 times, and Antepli İshak Pasha, the Rumelian gover
The cathedral is noted as being the largest and the finest temple, and the most important Gothic structure in Cyprus. It is said to have been constructed over a Byzantine church called Hagia Sophia on the same site. The construction was started by the Latin Archbishop Eustorge de Montaigu in 1208. It was consecrated in 1326 and opened to religious service. As it was the most important church of Cyprus the coronation ceremonies of the Lusignan kings were held here. The cathedral was restored by the Genoese in 1373, and by the Mamluks in 1426; it was damaged in several earthquakes. The eastern section of the cathedral was destroyed in eathquakes in 1491 and as it was being restored by the Venetians, the grave of an old Lusignan king (Hugh II) was uncovered. The corpse was well preserved with a crown on its head, and items made of gold and documents on it. The cathedral was constructed by French architects and craftsmen and it is a beautiful eaxample of medieval French architecture.  The cathedral has a monumental entrance. The carved windows above the entrance are examples of unequalled Gothic art. The Ottomans have built minarets over the two unfinished belfries on either side of the entrance. The inside of the cathedral comprises three aisles, six side sections and little chapels. The chapel to the north was dedicated to St. Nicholas, the ones to the south to virgin Mary and St. Thomas Aquinas. The part of the mosque reserved for women used to be the treasury. Many Lusignan nobilities and kings are buried inside the cathedral.  The marble grave stones of these graves still constitute part of the floor tiles. The inscriptions and drawings on these have been well preserved since they are covered with rush mats, and people are not allowed in with their shoes